20.3 C
19 maj 2024

Riot Games Announces Teamfight Tactics: Fates Pass, Star Shards, Little Legends and new Arenas


Teamfight Tactics: Fates is coming soon, and it wouldn’t be complete without a whole bunch of new ways to show off your style. Get ready for a new series of dragon-themed Little Legends, Ionia-themed arenas that react to your board state, and rip-roaring new booms. Last but not least, we’re formally introducing the Star Shards system as an alternate way to level-up your Little Legends. So, let’s dive in!

Star Shards

Starting with Fates, you’ll be able to level up your Little Legends by purchasing Star Shards. If you’re looking for the 3-star version of your favorite Little Legend, this’ll be the way to do it. If you’re just looking to broaden your collection, eggs will still be your best bet.

Here’s how they work:

Getting Star Shards

Star Shards will be available in the store and through the Fates Pass+. You’ll get a total of 300 Star Shards from the pass. Star Shards will be available for purchase in bundles starting from 625 RP. This base bundle will have enough to star-up most Little Legends once. We’ll also have larger bundles with bonus Star Shards if you really want to grow your collection. We’re still looking at adding other ways to purchase or acquire Star Shards, but those will be coming in future updates.

Using Star Shards

After acquiring some Star Shards, head on over to the loadouts selector where you’d typically pick your Little Legend. If you select a Little Legend that’s eligible for an upgrade, just click it and the poros that run the backend of the store will handle the rest. Note that all upgrades are non-refundable, so make sure you spend wisely!

It’ll take 100 Star Shards to upgrade Rare Little Legends (like Pengu Featherknight) and Pass+ Little Legends (like the Astronaut Molediver and Star Guardian Silverwing) for the 2-Star to 3-Star upgrade only, 125 Star Shards to upgrade Epic Little Legends (like Extra Spicy Featherknight), and 150 Star Shards to upgrade Legendary Little Legends (like Ravenlord Featherknight).

Other Notes

There are a few Little Legends that won’t work with Star Shards since they don’t have additional tiers:

    • Victorious Little Legends
    • UFO, Star Guardian, and Jade Emperor Sprites
    • There may be other Little Legends in the future that will fall into this category, but we’ll let you know if you can’t use Star Shards for them

Outside of those restrictions, the only requirement for using Star Shards is that you already own the 1-star version of the Little Legend.


Three new arenas—Festival, Kanmei and Akana—are not only decked out in Ionian splendor, but also react to the state of your game. These arenas will change based on your wins, losses, streaks, and three-star champion deaths.They’ll be available for the same price as previous arenas 1380RP for 1 and 2900RP for a bundle of all 3.

Little Legends

Fates comes with three new dragon Little Legends. Ao Shin, Umbra, Choncc, and all of their non-legendary variants will be available for direct purchase in the store. They’ll cost 750RP for rares and 925RP for epics They’ll also be available in eggs if you’re not looking for a specific dragon but still want to fill out your collection, or if you want to land that legendary variant.

Ao Shin

A descendant of the Storm Dragon lineage, Ao Shin is a guardian of the storm, wielding the duality of gentle rains and the ferocity of lightning and thunder.


As a whelpling, Choncc is eternally hungry and perpetually sleepy. While favored for their mellow nature, Choncc can be roused to ferocious power if provoked—or cajoled into action with the right snacks.


Umbra, a shadow dragon, appears guarded and reserved at first. However, once a mortal has earned their trust, they show sweet affection and fierce dedication, conjuring shadow and flame to defend their allies.

The Fates Pass

You know the drill: new set, new pass. This one will work similarly to previous passes, with more missions at the start of the set and fewer towards the end. Early missions will challenge you to try out all of the new traits and champions. As always, completing these missions and playing games of TFT will give you XP to unlock eggs, emotes, and eventually the Journey’s Destination Arena.


If you upgrade your Pass to the Pass+ for 1295RP you’ll unlock a whole bunch more along the way, including Star Shards and:

  • A new lineup of booms to blast your enemies
  • Sprite’s new Jade Emperor makeover
  • A Fates-themed Fuwa
  • Two additional Fates arenas

Ranked Rewards

TFT: Galaxies ranked rewards are coming in patch 10.21.

You’ll receive Victorious Hauntling if you reached Gold or higher in one of the 2 Ranked stages. You’ll also receiveTriumphant Hauntling if you reached Gold or higher in both of the Ranked stages.

Emotes will be awarded for Galaxies’ second Ranked stage and have updated for future Ranked rewards.

Related articles


Recent articles